The Ups and Downs of Dinging Flagged or: How I Learned to Hate World PvP

Last night, Devv finally dinged 74 in Grizzly Hills. This was no small feat. She spent most of the climb from 73 to 74 flagged for PvP. After completing one of the Venture Bay PvP dailies, her five minute grace period never started. I tried logging out, logging back in, manually flagging PvP, then manually un-flagging. No dice. Open Help Ticket, wait fifteen minutes, Edit Ticket to remove some of the unnecessary cuss words, rinse, repeat.

Along the way, I was ganked by three individuals, all higher level than me, all Tauren. The lesson learned here is that people who roll Tauren Horde toons are the biggest pricks in WoW.

There was a Tauren Druid who insisted upon ganking me whenever my health was low. I alleviated this problem by logging onto Predatore after my third ganking.

I chased my tormentor halfway across Grizzly Hills before unleashing my army of undead on him. Of course, I corpse camped him. Pansy waited the full five minutes to un-flag before he rezzed. No matter, I griefed him into flagging again. This time, he literally ran for the hills. It took his every effort just to get away before logging into a level 1 Draenei and talking smack. Well played, jackass. Well played.

Readjusting to the Mage playstyle has definitely been a challenge. Devv’s corpse runs in Grizzly Hills are exponentially higher in quantity than Predatore’s in the same zone. On the bright side, Frostweave is dropping like mad. Devv is 89 pieces shy of 410 Tailoring. Some people long to get their professions to 450. I’ll be deeply satisfied with 410. That’s when it gets fun and profitable for me again.

Speaking of professions, Predatore’s Inscription has been quite lucrative lately. To this day, I’ve still never sold a single glyph. Every piece of gold he’s ever made has been from Darkmoon Cards of the North. Whenever a Nobles card drops, I immediately list it on AH. I haven’t sold one for less than 1000G yet. When my efforts yield any card of Prisms, Chaos, or Undeath, I throw it in the bank, working to create all eight of each. They don’t sell quite as well as Nobles on their own, so I’m banking on making my profit from compiling full decks.

Oh! One last thing. Someone asked me about Devv’s other profession earlier this week. She’s a Miner, currently at level 420. A Miner, you say? All of Devv’s Mining efforts go straight to the Guild Bank. Darkdmon is a Jewelcrafter so all of my ores are prospected for gems. His main, Darkasm, is a high level Enchanter so all of my extra crafted Tailoring items are disenchanted into dusts and essences. I can then either use them for other Tailoring patterns or for my own enchants.

Well, so much for sporadic posting. As busy as I’ve been, I’ve been dropping a word or two pretty regularly lately. I hope you guys enjoy reading my thoughts. I have some more creative posts in the works. Lately, it seems like I’ve just been giving progress reports. That will all change soon. Thanks for reading, ya’ll.

2 Responses to “The Ups and Downs of Dinging Flagged or: How I Learned to Hate World PvP”

  1. It’s interesting how weak my mage feels compared to my DK. I’ve managed to get him up to 71 but for now he’s practically abandoned, except for leveling his tailoring and enchanting from mats sent by my other characters.

    It’s just incredible to me that Blizzard would make playing DKs (and from what I hear warriors and paladins) 10 times more fun compared to clothies, as you practically cannot die and damage is just as high and in fact many mages are doing less damage these days than almost every other class. How does it make sense that a plate wearer with 10x the survivability can do as much damage or even more than a mage or warlock? No wonder there are barely any level 80 warlocks and mages out there currently!

  2. @Solidstate It does seem like us Mages have gotten shoved aside. We’re like the little kids who get neglected all year, their parents start feeling guilty, then make a huge deal out of their birthday to make up for 364 days of neglect. That would be our entire arsenal with Frostfire Bolt on our 75th birthday and Mirror Image on our 80th.

    Like you said, the same argument could be made for Warlocks. Fortunately, I have such a deep-seated hatred for Warlocks that I’m immune to feeling sympathy for them. It might have something to do with a couple weekends spent in Alterac Valley.

Leave a Reply

